Barbara Seaquist Williams Leadership Award

This award was established by John F. Williams in honor of his late wife, Barbara Seaquist Williams, the former treasurer of the U.S. Tennis Association and a very active volunteer as an Illinois student in the late 1940s. A 1949 graduate of the University, Barbara was truly dedicated to volunteerism and the effects and rewards it provided to the University and the community. She served as a volunteer for many programs and events while maintaining a commitment to a number of student organizations.

Eligibility: Female juniors who have demonstrated outstanding leadership while maintaining a cumulative GPA of at least 3.0 (A = 4.0). The successful nominee has made a significant positive impact on the quality of University programs, services and/or activities. This nominee has also shown creativity and community awareness in their work.

Amount: $1,000

Number of Awards: 2

2022 Recipients

Hanifa Mohammed photo

Hanifa Mohammed

Emily Smith photo

Emily Smith